Several new state laws have poster requirements which are included in the California “All in One” poster, so getting your updated posters for 2018 is essential and posting it in a prominent location for employees to see. Also, make sure you are in compliance with any local ordinance posting requirements for your locations throughout California.
On January 1, 2018, the state-wide minimum wage increases to $10.50 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees, and to $11 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees. These changes also raise the minimum exempt salary rate which is calculated at 2 times the hourly rate using a 40 hour work […]
Commonly known as “ban the box” legislation, AB 1008 prohibits employers with five or more employees from asking about criminal history information on job applications or at any time before a conditional offer of employment has been made. There are limited exceptions for certain positions, such as those requiring a criminal background check. Additionally, some criminal history information, such […]
Under AB 168, employers are banned from asking applicants about their salary history, and from seeking the information from third-parties, i.e. recruiters. Employers cannot rely on salary history information as a determining factor in whether to hire the applicant or how much to pay them. An employer is also required to provide a job applicant, upon reasonable request, the pay […]
Under the New Parent Leave Act (SB 63), small businesses with 20 or more employees must provide eligible employees up to 12 weeks of unpaid job-protected leave to bond with a new child within one year of the child’s birth, adoption, or foster care placement. To be eligible, employees must: Have worked for employer more than 12 months; Have […]
Effective January 1, 2018 AB 908 increases the amount of Paid Family Leave (PFL) or State Disability Insurance (SDI) partial wage replacement benefits an employee can receive to either 60 percent or 70 percent of earnings, depending on the employee’s earnings. AB 908 also removes the seven-day waiting period that exists before an employee is eligible to receive PFL benefits.
Under SB 396, employers with 50 or more employees must provide supervisors with two hours of sexual harassment prevention training every two years. Employers must ensure any mandatory training course they use also discusses harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation. The law also requires all employers to display a Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) poster […]
California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) has been revised to delete gender-specific pronouns in California’s anti-discrimination, anti-harassment, pregnancy disability, and family/medical leave laws, by changing “he” or “she”, for example, to “the person” or “the employee” to make reference to individuals more gender neutral.
Effective January 1, 2018, the exempt classification rate for Computer Software employees increases as follows: The minimum hourly rate of pay exemption increases to $43.58, from $42.35; The minimum monthly salary increases to $7,565.85, from $7,352.62; The minimum annual salary exemption increases to $90,790.07, from $88,231.36.
Private employers with more than 100 employees are required to report employees by race, ethnicity and gender on their EEO-1 reports. The 2017 EEO-1 report is still due March 31, 2018; however, employers will not have to collect pay data as previous mandated. Employers should use the version of the EEO-1 form provided on the EEO-1 website, that does not […]